En Route to Vasaloppet 2018, Day 8


Today I broke another PR for roller skiing. The ‘usual’ distance of about 8-8.5 km this time going 13.99 km/h an average in classic technique. This is still a short distance rather flat track but considered that I am going slowly downhill and parts of the course is in traffic (crossing roads, etc.) I am getting closer to the sort of runtimes needed to seed for a better start group in Vasaloppet.

On flat parts out in the park I am getting split times of 14.6, 15.5, 15.6 and 17.8 km/h hitting intervals with max speeds of 22-30 km/h. This is close to the skate skiing splits I did up in Grönklitt back in february which is quite good considered I am rolling in classic technique. Pulse averaged on 177 with  intervals at 181 and 189 bpm. At the last slope upwards double poling like a maniac I was hitting first 193 bpm and then it went up to max out at 226 on the top (though I find that a bit hard to believe, considered my age, I do remember hitting max pulse of that measure when cycling intervals with Herning CK, when I was in my early twenties).

What I need to do also over the course of the summer is to do tracks of longer distance with slightly higher average speeds.

Using the soft brake on the left roller ski for downhill and the harder one on the right ski for traffic. But I would really want them both to be equally soft and not blocking the wheel.

Quoting a song from one of my absolute favorite concerts. You guess which:

“Now I sit by my window
And I watch the cars roll by
I fear I’ll do some damage
One fine day
But I would not be convicted
By a jury of my peers
Still crazy after all these years

Still crazy after all these years.”

RIP Richard Tee. This bright gifted musician died way way too early at age 49 from prostate cancer back in 1993.

#Vasaloppet

Skriv et svar

